Skip To Main Content

SJCS Students Recognized for Book Award Achievements

SJCS Students Recognized for Book Award Achievements

Eleven SJCS students were recognized Tuesday during the annual Book Awards ceremony in the College Counseling office.

During the process for selection, the names of students who meet the general eligibility criteria for each award are submitted to members of the Scholarship Committee, who then select our school’s nominee(s) for each award. Final selection is then determined by each individual institution.

The awards and winners were as follows:

Rochester Institute of Technology High School Awards: Each recipient receives an application waiver and will be eligible for merit scholarships worth $19,000 per year. All students are high achieving academic students who are pursuing a rigorous college preparatory curriculum and are active and involved members of their schools and/or communities, in addition to the specific criteria below.

Rochester Institute of Technology Art and Design Award:

  • Max Orbon

The recipient has demonstrated outstanding achievement in art, design and creativity.

Rochester Institute of Technology Business and Leadership Award:

  • Jacob Guirao

The recipient has demonstrated an interest and ability in business, leadership and entrepreneurship.

Rochester Institute of Technology Computing Award:

  • Austin Dodge

The recipient has demonstrated an interest and ability in computing.

Rochester Institute of Technology Women in STEM Award:

  • Adelaide Doniel

The recipient is a female student who has demonstrated high achievement, ability, and interest in science, computing, robotics and/or math. 

The Saint Michael’s Book Awards for Academic Achievement and Social Conscience:

  • Sydney Slater
  • Sophia Duque

The recipients have demonstrated academic excellence and a sustained and sincere commitment to community service, issues of peace and justice and concern for others.

The West Point Leadership Award:

  • Joshua Linebaugh

The recipient is a junior who has demonstrated leadership, high academic performance, athletic success, community service and good citizenship.

George Mason University Book Award:

  • Caroline Getz

The recipient receives an application waiver. The awardee has made significant contributions to their community and classrooms in a manner reflective of Mason’s Honors students. George Mason University Honors College Book Award recipients demonstrate:  

  • Curiosity, a desire for intellectual growth and generosity with their knowledge;
  • An ability to solve problems and overcome challenges;
  • Civic engagement and a sense of responsibility to others;
  • A commitment to inclusion and diversity.

The University of Vermont Citizen Scholar Book Award:

  • Jacob Guirao

This award is presented to an exemplary student demonstrating both outstanding dedication to scholarship inside the classroom and impressive duty to citizenship outside the classroom.

The Clarkson University High School Leadership Award:

  • Austin Dodge

This program recognizes high school juniors who demonstrate strong leadership qualities, positively impact their school and local community and have a proven academic record. Scholarship given: $100,000 ($25,000 per year over four years)

The Clarkson University High School Achievement Award:

  • Emerson Tate 

This program recognizes high school juniors who demonstrate strong leadership qualities, positively impact their school and local community and have a proven academic record. Scholarship given: $80,000 ($20,000 per year over four years)

The University of Rochester Awards: This program recognizes high school juniors’ outstanding achievements in leadership and academics. All nominees will have their application fee waived and will be eligible to be considered for merit scholarships worth at least $5,000 per year.

University of Rochester Bausch + Lomb Honorary Science Award:

  • Adelaide Doniel

This award recognizes high achievement and rigor in science and math classes and positive contributions to their school and within the larger community.

University of Rochester Frederick Douglass and Susan B. Anthony Award:

  • Sadie Butchko*

This student demonstrated commitment to understanding and addressing difficult social issues, leadership and dedication to community action and strong grades and rigorous courses taken in the humanities and social sciences.

*not present at ceremony

University of Rochester Xerox Award for Innovation and Technology:

  • Austin Dodge

This award recognizes strong interest in innovation and/or information technology and a high level of achievement in this area, exposure to new technologies outside of school, such as pursuing serious work opportunities in local laboratories or industry and leading other students to new approaches to old problems.

University of Rochester George Eastman Young Leaders Award:

  • Matt Patterson

This award recognizes strong leadership experience at school and in the community, high grades and challenging courses and extensive involvement in extracurricular activities.

The Washington and Lee Book Award:

  • Caroline Getz

This award is presented to a current junior (rising senior) who, in the opinion of the school, most exemplifies a combination of academic excellence, personal integrity and strength of character, participation in extracurricular activities and leadership.