Skip To Main Content

SJCS Wrestlers Defeat Rival Christ Church on Senior Night

The SJCS wrestling team celebrated Senior Night with a victory over Christ Church in its only home match of the season.

The Knights, in their first home match in two years, hosted Chesnee and Christ Church on Wednesday, January 12. St. Joe's lost, 60-24, against Chesnee and then rebounded to beat Christ Church, 54-18.

Before the matches, the team recognized its three seniors: Diego Meneses, Cannon Jackson and Matt Wilson.

Against Chesnee, Wilson (at 138 pounds) and sophomore Hammond Fayssoux (152) both registered first-period pins, and freshman Jack Meadors (106) and Jackson (285) won by forfeit.

In the victory against Christ Church, freshman Austin Dodge (113), Wilson (145), freshman Charles Kennedy (152) and freshman Jack Flynn (195) all won with first-period pins, and Meadors (106), freshman Jackson Farrar (126), junior Logan Dodge (138) and Jackson (285) all won by forfeit.

There were also several Junior Varsity and Middle School matches. Eighth-Grader Eliot Power won by first-period pin against a Christ Church opponent; 6th-Grader Tim Power won with first- and second-period pins against two CCES opponents; and 6th-Grader Luke Jones won with a third-period pin against a wrestler from Christ Church.


106: Jack Meadors (SJ) won by forfeit; 113: Noah Gottschalk (C) p. Austin Dodge; 120: Ricky Henderson (C) won by forfeit; 126: Luke Hollifield (C) p. Jackson Farrar; 132: Aedon Mendoza (C) p. Logan Dodge; 138: Matt Wilson (SJ) p. Noah Henderson; 145: Kyle Cozby (C) p. Charles Kennedy; 152: Hammond Fayssoux (SJ) p. Gunter Gerstenacker; 160: Jesse Cozby (C) won by forfeit; 172: Sherman Hayes (C) won by forfeit; 182: Noah Cooper (C) p. Samuel Rivas-Calle; 195: Nick Hofer (C) p. Jack Flynn; 220: Ezekial Lazarin-Chavez (C) won by forfeit; 285: Cannon Jackson (SJ) won by forfeit.

106: Jack Meadors (SJ) won by forfeit; 113: Austin Dodge (SJ) p. Nolan Quinn; 120: double forfeit; 126: Jackson Farrar (SJ) won by forfeit; 132: double forfeit; 138: Logan Dodge (SJ) won by forfeit; 145: Matt Wilson (SJ) p. Alexander Bowie; 152: Charles Kennedy (SJ) p. Nick Pappas; 160: Alex Eastland (CC) p. Hammond Fayssoux; 170: double forfeit; 182: Ladds Goldsmith (CC) pin Samuel Rivas-Calle; 195: Jack Flynn (SJ) p. Thomas Blevins; 220: Darby Yearby (CC) won by forfeit; 285 Cannon Jackson (SJ) won by forfeit.