Student Groups

High School Campus Ministry Groups

  • Guild of St. Stephen -This is the SJCS Altar Server group, open to any boy in the middle and high school who would like to serve at the school’s daily or all-school masses. For more information, contact Gabe Lewis at glewis@sjcatholicschool.org
    Guild of St. Martha – This is the SJCS Sacristan and Liturgical Reader group, open to any girl in the middle or high school who would like to serve Christ by preparing the Mass and reading. For more information contact Gabe Lewis at glewis@sjcatholicschool.org
  • Compadres – This group meets weekly during lunch and is for high school boys seeking to learn what it means to follow Christ as a young man in the modern world. How do I learn to hear his voice, to learn what he wants for me, to live as he lived? This group is sponsored by the Vocations Office of the Diocese of Charleston. For more information contact Gabe Lewis at glewis@sjcatholicschool.org
  • Comadres – This group meets weekly during lunch and is for high school girls seeking to discover God’s plan for their lives and what it means to be his disciple as a young woman in high school. This group is sponsored by the Vocations Office of the Diocese of Charleston. For more information contact Shawna Fesler at sfesler@sjcatholicschools.org
  • GS – This group meets weekly on Friday evenings and is comprised of high school students seeking to grow in communion with one another and with Christ and to discover his presence in their lives. For information contact Michele Houmis at mhoumis@sjcatholicschool.org
  • St. Anthony’s Mentors – Students in 6th period study hall who wish to give of their time as mentors to 1st and 2nd graders at St. Anthony of Padua Catholic School may sign up for this group. Members spend lunch and study hall one day a week as mentors at St. Anthony’s. For information contact Gabe Lewis at glewis@sjcatholicschool.org
  • Frazee Center Mentors – Students in 4th period study hall who wish to give of their time as mentors to pre-schoolers at the Frazee Dream Center in downtown Greenville may sign up for this group. Members spend lunch and study hall one day a week as mentors at the center. For information contact Gabe Lewis at glewis@sjcatholicschool.org
  • Retreat Leaders – High school students interested in helping to run the SJCS class retreats. Students meet weekly in the month leading up to each retreat. Different students lead each retreat. For information contact Gabe Lewis at glewis@sjcatholicschool.org
  • Kairos Retreat Leaders – Rising seniors who participated in the junior year “Kairos” retreat are eligible to apply to lead Kairos as seniors. For information contact Julie Schroeder at jschroeder@sjcatholicschool.org
  • Stop Hunger Now – Want to do your part to fight against hunger and help those in need? Stop Hunger Now prepares fundraisers throughout the year and then runs a concluding event where students package thousands of meals that will be shipped to the hungry in Africa. For more information contact sfesler@sjcatholicschool.org
  • Pope Francis Forum for Dialogue and Diversity – The deepest unity creates a beautiful diversity, for “there are many members, but one body” (1 Cor 12:20) of Christ. Students who would like to seek for unity in diversity and to help create a culture of inclusion and welcoming may be interested in this student led forum, moderated by faculty member and SJCS Diversity Coordinator, Jennie Neighbors. For more information contact Jennie at jneighbors@sjcatholicschool.org
  • Students for Life – Students who wish to be involved in the cause of promoting and protecting the dignity of human life, from conception until natural death, may join the St. Joe’s chapter of Students for Life. For more information contact Karl Orbon at korbon@sjcatholicschool.org

Middle School Campus Ministry Groups

  • Guild of St. Stephen -This is the SJCS Altar Server group, open to any boy in the middle and high school who would like to serve at the school’s daily or all-school masses. For more information, contact Gabe Lewis at glewis@sjcatholicschool.org
  • Guild of St. Martha – This is the SJCS Sacristan and Liturgical Reader group, open to any girl in the middle or high school who would like to serve Christ by preparing the Mass and reading. For more information contact Gabe Lewis at glewis@sjcatholicschool.org
  • St. Maximilian Kolbe Vocations Club for Boys – Middle school boys who want to know what it means to follow Christ as a middle schooler, how to pray, and what the saints can teach us about virtue, may sign up for this group. For more information contact Bill Hudson at bhudson@sjcatholicschool.org
  • St. Cecilia Vocations Club for Girls – This group is for any middle school girl who wants to grow in virtue, in faith, and in understanding of what it means to be a Christian young woman seeking out God’s will. For more information contact Lynn Connelly at lconnelly@sjcatholicschool.org
  • Girl Talk – Founded by SJCS high school students, Girl Talk is group that meets weekly where high school girls mentor middle school girls about the trials and triumphs of teenage years. For more information contact Lisa Shapiro at lshapiro@sjcatholicschool.org
  • Rosary Club – The Rosary Club is open to any middle school boy or girl. Members meet once a week to make rosaries which are then sent out to religious communities working in the missions throughout the world. For more information contact Susie Benkert at sbenkert@sjcatholicschool.org