Athletics

Athletics is a vital and integral part of St. Joseph’s Catholic School. The SJCS Athletic Program offers students opportunities for competition with other Class AA schools in the South Carolina High School League (SCHSL), as well as opportunities for our middle school students to compete in the Carolinas Middle School Conference (CMSC). Participation in athletics, either as a player or as a fan, is an important part of the school’s educational experience. We invite you to come out and support SJCS athletics. Go Knights!


Sportsmanship and School Spirit

In demonstrating their love for and loyalty to St. Joseph’s Catholic School and the teams which represent the school, all St. Joseph’s students, team members, and coaches are expected to exercise a courtesy and hospitality to visiting teams and officials and to conduct themselves in a sportsmanlike manner at all times. The conduct of parents should also reflect this Christian mission of St. Joseph’s. Athletes and fans are encouraged to be mindful of the fundamentals of good sportsmanship:

  • Show courtesy and respect for all faculty, staff, coaches, fellow students, opponents, officials, and property
  • Know, understand, and appreciate the rules of the contest
  • Exercise self-control and restraint
  • Appreciate skill and performance regardless of an athlete’s affiliation
  • Maintain a healthy desire to excel and win, while having the ability to win and lose gracefully

 

Spring Sports Tryouts Begin January 28

Please note that all required athletic forms MUST be uploaded to arbiter athlete before tryouts begin.

  • Girls Lacrosse: January 28 from 4:00-6:00 PM Sunset Park
  • Boys Lacrosse: January 28 from 4:00-6:00 PM Sunset Park
  • Boys and Girls Track and Field: January 28 & 29 3:30-5:00PM, January 30 from      1:45-3:15. January 31 & Feb 1, 3:30-5:00PM
  • Boys JV & Varsity Soccer: January 28 & 29 from 3:30-5:30 PM, January 30            from 1:30-3:30 PM, January 31 & February 1 from 5:30-7:00 PM
  • Girls MS, JV & Varsity Soccer: January 28 & 29 from 5:30-7:00 PM, January 30      from 3:30-5:30, January 31 & February 1 from 3:30-5:30 PM
  • Boys Tennis: January 28 & 29 from 3:30-5:00 PM, January 30 from 1:30-3:30      PM, January 31 & February 1 from 3:30-5:00 PM
  • Varsity and JV Baseball: January 29 & February 1 from 5:30-7:30 PM
  • MS Baseball: January 30 & February 1 from 3:30-5:15 PM
  • Boys Golf: January 30 at 2:30 PM at The Preserve at Verdae
  • JV and Varsity Softball: February 4-8 from 3:45-5:15 PM
  • MS Co-Ed Golf: TBD

SJCS Spring Sports Coaches:

Head Boys and Girls Track Coach:  George Carr (gcarr@sjcatholicschool.org)

Head Varsity Boys Golf Coach:  Ted Coia (tcoia@sjcatholicschool.org)

Head Varsity Boys Soccer Coach: Frank Kucinic (fkucinic@sjcatholicschool.org)

Head JV Boys Soccer Coach: Jaime Swingle (jswingle@sjcatholicschool.org)

Head Varsity Girls Soccer Coach: Rick Morris (rmorris@sjcatholicschool.org)

Head JV Girls Soccer Coach: Kristin Rollins (Krollins@sjcatholicschool.org)

Head Varsity Baseball Coach: George Turmon (gturmon@sjcatholicschool.org)

Head JV Baseball Coach:  Matt Bynum (mbynum@sjcatholicschool.org)

Head Varsity Softball Coach: Tony Salerno (tselerno@sjcatholicschool.org)

Head Varsity Girls Lacrosse Coach: Barry Eilers (beilers@sjcatholicschool.org)

Head Varsity Boys Lacrosse Coach: Ed Knope (eknope@sjcatholicschool.org)

Head V Boys Tennis Coach:  Ken Arp (karp@sjcatholicschool.org)

Head JV Tennis Coach: Kevin Meyer (kmeyer@sjcatholischool.org)