Athletics

Athletics is a vital and integral part of St. Joseph’s Catholic School. The SJCS Athletic Program offers students opportunities for competition with other Class AA schools in the South Carolina High School League (SCHSL), as well as opportunities for our middle school students to compete in the Carolinas Middle School Conference (CMSC). Participation in athletics, either as a player or as a fan, is an important part of the school’s educational experience. We invite you to come out and support SJCS athletics. Go Knights!


Sportsmanship and School Spirit

In demonstrating their love for and loyalty to St. Joseph’s Catholic School and the teams which represent the school, all St. Joseph’s students, team members, and coaches are expected to exercise a courtesy and hospitality to visiting teams and officials and to conduct themselves in a sportsmanlike manner at all times. The conduct of parents should also reflect this Christian mission of St. Joseph’s. Athletes and fans are encouraged to be mindful of the fundamentals of good sportsmanship:

  • Show courtesy and respect for all faculty, staff, coaches, fellow students, opponents, officials, and property
  • Know, understand, and appreciate the rules of the contest
  • Exercise self-control and restraint
  • Appreciate skill and performance regardless of an athlete’s affiliation
  • Maintain a healthy desire to excel and win, while having the ability to win and lose gracefully
Fall Sports
First Day of Tryouts/Practice

April 29-May 2, 2019
Cheer: Rising 7-12th Graders

Friday, August 2, 2019:
JV and Varsity Football: 8:00 A.M.-10:00 AM
JV and Varsity Girls Tennis 9:00 AM – 11:00 AM

Monday, August 5, 2019:
Girls and Boys Cross-Country: 7:30-9:00 AM
Boys and Girls Swimming: at Spaulding Farms Pool 7:00-8:30 AM
JV and Varsity Volleyball: 1:30-3:30 PM
Girls Golf: at The Preserve at Verdae 9:30AM

Monday, August 12, 2019:
Middle School Football: 8:00-10:00 AM
Middle School Volleyball: 3:30-5:30 PM
6th Grade Cheer: 8:00-10:00 AM

SJCS Fall Coaches
Boys Cross-Country Coach: George Carr (gcarr@sjcatholicschool.org)
Girls Cross-Country Coach: Marie Kernell (mkernell@sjcatholicschool.org)
Varsity Girls Golf Coach: Mark Matlock (mmatlock@sjcatholicschool.org)
Varsity Football Coach: Jon Wheeler (jwheeler@sjcathloicschool.org)
JV Football Coach: Eddie Poole (epoole@sjcatholicschool.org)
Middle School Football Coach: Tim Brady (tbrady@sjcatholicschool.org)
Varsity Swim Team Coach: Rebecca Van Evera (bvanevera@sjcatholicschool.org)
Varsity Girls Tennis Coach: Trisha Brown (Tbrown@sjcatholicschool.org)
JV Girls Tennis Coach: Lynne Zankman (Lzankman@sjcatholicschool.org)
Varsity Volleyball Coach: Jan Carino (jcarino@sjcatholicschool.org)
JV Volleyball Coach: Mallory Mitchell (mmitchell@sjcatholicschool.org)
MS, JV &V Cheer Coach: Jessica Reynolds (jereynolds@sjcatholicschool.org)