SJCS Youth In Government Delegation Brings Home Honors

The SJCS Youth in Government (YIG) delegation had great success this year in the state capitol. The delegation, representing St. Joseph’s for our 17th year, once again received the Premier Delegation Award. St. Joseph’s has brought this high honor home every year since we began participating and speaks to the incredible time and efforts put forth by every single students in the delegation.

Special thank you to Lizzie Latham for providing such wonderful photos!

This year, our students took home a new honor by setting a new school record for most signed bills, 13 of the 24 written. The following students had their bills signed by the Youth Governor:

Lauren DeLo & Sydney Nobarak
Jenna Maunsell & Gracie Lawton
Ava Keating & Abbie Panuccio
Abby Seidel & Adrianna DeLacruz
Emily Mulholland & Rachel Marlar
Ellie Cassidy & Maria Clark
Spencer Marchant & Lee Eberly
Karen Shenouda & Maurena Supra
Eleni San & Camille Ferguson
Sam Nixon & Julia Arnett
Preston Saad & Ishan Lal
Eli Challis & Sandon Brown
Michael Ann Pace & Mackenzie Manfredi

Outstanding Bill Awards
Eleni San & Camille Ferguson
Brendan Dunlavey & Mclean Armstrong

Outstanding Statesman Awards
Andrew Walajtys — Premier House
Spencer Marchant — House

Outstanding Appeals Attorney Award
Davis Cooney

Elected Youth Secretary of Education
Ishan Lal

Students were also selected to attend the very competitive summer programs. Both the Committee on National Affairs and the National Judiciary Competition are programs that students have to apply for, be recommended to, and then selected. The following SJCS students were chosen:

Committee on National Affairs
Maegan White
Katelyn Supra*
Emma Kate Seckinger*

National Judiciary Competition
Maegan White
Jessica Gerac

*indicates alternate

All 77 students participated in a variety of roles. We had eleven leadership positions, twelve attorneys on two attorney teams, and one appeals pair. Davis Cooney was the only appeals attorney selected at YIG to argue the Constitutional Bill Challenge, and Ishan Lal won the election for Youth Secretary of Education. Thank you to Mrs. Megan Koon and Dr. Steven Jones who coached the attorneys, and to Mr. Jamie Swingle, Mrs. Greshan Charlton, and Mrs. Meby Carr who worked with the legislative pairs.