Cross Country Sweeps Boys and Girls State Championships Fourth Year Running

Congratulations to our Boys and Girls Cross Country teams! They swept both State Championships for the fourth year in a row on Saturday. Boys have claimed six out of the past seven years, and the girls celebrate their ninth year in a row, adding to their SCHSL record for consecutive titles for girls teams (eleven consecutive titles including the two won in SCISA).

Junior Ava Dobson won her second straight championship, finishing in 18 minutes, 3.47 seconds, well ahead of the runner-up from Greer Middle College (18:49.88).

St. Joseph’s has 3 seniors who have been named to the 2018 Mike Moore Shrine Bowl Run team: Lili Jaraczewski, Zac Palmer, and Josh Powers met the qualifying criteria and will represent St. Joseph’s with 39 other seniors from all over the state of South Carolina on December 15th.

Thanks to Head Coaches Marie Kernell and George Carr and Assistant Coaches Amy McTigue and David Wilson for their great leadership.

All-State Teams
Ava Dobson (first, 18:03:47)
Caroline Linen (fourth, 19:27.06)
Lilian Jaraczewski (fifth, 19:28.07)
Brigid Alvis (10th, 20:02.82)

Brendan McTigue (fourth, 16:33.23)
Josh Powers (fifth, 16:34.38)
Tristan McTigue (sixth, 16:40.85)
Zac Palmer (10th, 16:57.71)

Read the Greenville News story here